Dec 1, 2010

Brandon Sanderson Is Ridiculous (And Publishing Two More Novels)

So we all know that Brandon Sanderson is ridiculous. Not only is he finishing doorstopper-class fantasy series The Wheel of Time, he's also penning another 10-book series with The Stormlight Archives. For reference, Book #1, Way of Kings (my review), checked in at 1004 pages. Combine those two series with his YA work (Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians) and he's pushing a million words of published work a year. Sound like a lot right?

So I was not exactly expecting the press release announcing that Brandon "Writes While He Sleeps" Sanderson has just sold another two novels to Tor. Here are the respective blurbs:

Mistborn: The Alloy of Law [4th Mistborn Book]
Sanderson’s first new project will be an original, standalone short novel set in the universe of his Mistborn trilogy (Mistborn, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages). Sanderson previously announced plans for a sequel trilogy set in the far future of that world, and the new novel, entitled Mistborn: The Alloy of Law, is set during a frontier era where “allomancy” meets gunplay. The Alloy of Law will be published in late 2011.
The Rithmatist [Standalone]

Sanderson’s second project, titled The Rithmatist, was first drafted in 2007 and perfected this year. Set in an alternate-history America where magic users (called “Rithmatists”) battle wild chalk creatures, The Rithmatist introduces Joel, a student at the Rithmatist academy with great interest in but no ability to use the magic. But when students start vanishing, it’s up to him to expose the sinister figure behind the disappearances. The Rithmatist will be published in 2012 after the publication of A Memory of Light.
So between 2011 and 2012, Sanderson will publish
  • Mistborn: The Alloy of Law [Mistborn #4]
  • A Memory of Light [Wheel of Time #14]
  • The Rithmatist
  • High Prince of War [The Stormlight Archives #2]
and that's not including the potential for more Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians books or other stuff. Keep in mind that all of Sanderson's work falls within the shared universe (referred to as the Hoidverse) where all magic is tied back to a currently undisclosed source/event. Talk about worldbuilding...

So if anyone is wondering why they have no writing talent or drive, it's because Sanderson took it. Look for and forward to plenty of Sanderson books in the years to come.


  1. High Prince of war was supposed to be the next book in the SA series, featuring Dalinar Colin as the main character. I think he changed his mind since, and the next book (no known title as of now) will be centered around Jasnah.

  2. I would really like to know what steps he goes through when writing a novel. Or does he just summon writing spirits to do his bidding?

  3. Holy crap. That's a lot of books. A lot of big books.

    Good news for those of us who like his work, but the guy has got to need a break.

  4. This guys is a not human; but I love his stuff anyways. I take on magic and how clearly he defines it is "holy". And yes, he does have spirits & some other forces doing his bidding.

  5. correction
    I take on magic = His take on magic....

  6. The next book will be either from Dalinar's point of view and the book will be called 'High Prince of War' or it will be from Shallan's point of view - the title has not been decided.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...