Jun 16, 2009

Resisting the Robotic Revolution is Futile

Robots are coming. Angry robots. An army of angry robots. And that army is growing...

Angry Robot Books is a new imprint that will be hitting bookstores this fall (summer in the UK). They've confirmed a few books thus far across a variety of speculative fiction sub-genres including horror, urban fantasy, and near-future SF thriller. I've heard of a few of their debut authors but for the most part, it looks like they are giving some new talent a chance.

I'm always curious about new imprints as they usually bring some fresh perspective, new authors, and fantastic stories. Most imprint debut novels are winners as it makes little sense to establish a reputation of poor quality with your readers. Hopefully, the editors are picking those first few novels very carefully as it can make or break the reputation of your brand.

Earlier this week, Angry Robot Books detailed 3 more authors they have added to their line up. Some quick thoughts

Maurice Broaddus is writing a trilogy about the "Knights of Breton Court" which is being described as King Arthur retelling set among the drugs gangs of modern day urban America. This doesn't strike me as necessarily speculative but I'll read anything that's good so this will definitely be added to my watchlists. I'm most curious who the Merlin character will be. A corrupt cop? The dope suppliers? An old and wizened ex-dealer?

The 2nd author, Matt Forbeck, has sold a pair of novels. The first, Amortals, which is scheduled for November 2009, sounds like your typical neo-noir futuristic noir in the vein of Blade Runner or Altered Carbon. These books can be either really good or really meh. Hopefully, Forbeck can make it something worthwhile.

His second book intrigues me more. In late spring 2010, VEGAS KNIGHTS will hit the shelves. Touted as Oceans Eleven meets Harry Potter, this sounds like a fun thriller that I'll keep an eye out for.

The 3rd author, Mike Shevdon has two books in queue, both in a Fantasy/Urban Fantasy series (can't tell which). Sixty-One Nails and The Road to Bedlam are the first two books in the Niall Petersen chronology, promising a hidden world below our own. I love good urban fantasy but loathe paranormal romance and this sounds like its more of the former which is a good thing. Plus the first book is touted as "immense" something many publishers are reluctant to give debut authors unless they think they have something worth the page count.

Be sure to keep an eye on Angry Books and their cadre of authors in the coming months, they might be up to something special.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...